The Moray and Nairn Handicap League had its traditional climax to the season in Super Sunday which this year was hosted by Nairn Dunbar.

The day started with the outcome of the title resting between last year's winners, Moray and Hopeman looking for their first win in seven years. The draw had them facing each other but Hopeman started favourites as a win or draw would give them the trophy whilst Moray required a win. That small margin was to prove decisive.

Moray had the overall edge for much of the afternoon but it was Hopeman who got the first points on the board when Chris MacKenzie at the top of his game scored an early point which was then followed by Wayne Jeynes winning 3/2.

Dave Clarence in a tight game that finished on the last green also got the better of his Moray opponent until Richard Denning opened the Lossie team’s account. With Moray’s Stephen Houston, James Stephen and Terry Scholefield all being in control of their matches, the outcome was always going to hinge on Hopeman team captain, Ernie Hayes against his opposite number on the Moray team, Ben Whitefoot.

The game was close all the way but one up with one to play in Hopeman’s favour, a half on the par 5 eighteenth was enough to give a final 4-4 score line and Hopeman were celebrating their first League win since 2010.

Hopeman now are level with Elgin as joint leaders on 5 wins a piece over the 22 year history of the Handicap League.
In the two other matches Elgin drew with hosts Nairn Dunbar whilst Nairn had a convincing 6-2 win over Forres to take third place behind runners up Moray

Super Sunday also marked the final competition for Alan Stanfield, the League Secretary, after 30 years in the role.  Ernie Hayes, presented Alan with engraved whisky glasses on behalf of all the Member Clubs to compliment the crystal decanter he received from the Scratch League teams in May.